PRESS RELEASE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

Laura A. Briggs, Clerk 46 East Ohio Street Room 105 Indianapolis, IN 46204

Doris L. Pryor assumes duties as United States Magistrate Judge

INDIANAPOLIS, Indiana (March 1, 2018): The Honorable Jane E. Magnus-Stinson, Chief Judge of the United States District Court for the Southern District of Indiana, is pleased to announce that Doris L. Pryor today began her duties as United States Magistrate Judge. Judge Pryor fills the vacancy created by the untimely death of Magistrate Judge Denise K. LaRue, who passed away on August 2, 2017.

Chief Judge Stinson said, "The court is delighted to welcome Judge Pryor to the bench. Her arrival comes at a time of great need for the court, and my fellow judges and I know that Judge Pryor will be successful in her new position. Her intelligence, experience, and commitment to the principle of equal justice for all will serve her well. The citizens of the Southern District of Indiana are fortunate to have another exceptional magistrate judge serving them."

Judge Pryor's caseload is drawn from the Indianapolis and Terre Haute divisions. Like the other magistrate judges in the Southern District of Indiana, she will conduct various pretrial matters and evidentiary proceedings in civil cases on delegation from a district judge and preside over trial and disposition of civil cases upon consent of the litigants. After a period of recusal, she will also conduct preliminary proceedings in criminal cases and preside over trial and disposition of misdemeanor cases.

Judge Pryor was previously employed as the National Security Chief for the United States Attorney's Office for the Southern District of Indiana and served in that role from September 2014 until mid-February 2018. From August 2006 until her appointment as National Security Chief, she served as an Assistant United States Attorney for the Southern District of Indiana. From August 2005 through August 2006, Judge Pryor served as a Deputy Public Defender in the State of Arkansas Public Defender's Commission. She also has served two terms as a law clerk, for Judge J. Leon Holmes in the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Arkansas (August 2004-August 2005), and for Chief Judge Lavenski Smith of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit (August 2003-August 2004).

Born in Hope, Arkansas, Judge Pryor graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in 1999 from the University of Central Arkansas, where she majored in political science. She obtained her law degree from the Indiana University Maurer School of Law in 2003 and was admitted to the bar the same year. Judge Pryor has since been admitted to practice in numerous state and federal courts, including Indiana.

Judge Pryor is active in Indiana's legal community. She is currently serving as the program chair for the Indianapolis branch of the Federal Bar Association and has previously served as the secretary and newsletter chair of that organization. Judge Pryor is active in a number of other bar associations and chaired the Indianapolis Bar Association Diversity Job Fair's Student Workshop in 2016 and 2017. Judge Pryor was also instrumental in the development and growth of the Southern District of Indiana's Re-entry And Community Help (REACH) federal re-entry courts, which give formerly incarcerated individuals access to resources, law enforcement officials, community leaders, and other experts to help the returning citizens transition successfully back into the community.

Judge Pryor also serves her community as a board member of Goodwill Education Initiatives, Inc., and as the Young Adult Ministry Co-Director for the Pilgrim Missionary Baptist Church. She is also passionate about the Just the Beginning Foundation, which is committed to developing and nurturing interest in the law among young persons from various socioeconomic, ethnic, and cultural backgrounds underrepresented in the legal profession.

Judge Pryor lives in Carmel with her husband and son.

Magistrate Judges are appointed by the Judges of the United States District Courts for terms of eight years, and are eligible for reappointment to successive terms.