

Board of Directors & Officers

Hon. Sarah Evans Barker U.S. District Court

Elizabeth K. Cierzniak, President Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

C. Daniel Motsinger, Treasurer Krieg DeVault LLP

Libby Yin Goodknight, Assistant Treasurer Krieg DeVault LLP

Daniel E. Pulliam, Secretary Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

Adam Arceneaux Ice Miller LLP

Doria M. Lynch U. S. District Court

Steering Committee

Charles Bush Ice Miller LLP

Jayna Cacioppo Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP

A. Scott Chinn Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

Mark Crandley Barnes & Thornburg LLF

Mary Giorgio U.S. District Court

Evelyn A. Hollins U. S. District Court

Clark Kirkman Indiana Department of Environmental Management

William Longest Office of the Chapter 13 U.S. Trustee

Michael Marine Indiana University Health

Elizabeth Brand Monroe IUPUI Department of History

Elizabeth R. Osborn Indiana University

The Historical Society of the United States District Court for the Southern District of Indiana, Inc.

ONE INDIANA SQUARE, SUITE 2800 ★ ATTN. C. DANIEL MOTSINGER ★ INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA 46204 (317) 229-3729

www.insd.uscourts.gov/court-historical-society

A Judge on Record, Plus Paths to the Bench

12th Annual Court History & Continuing Legal Education Symposium Set for November 1, 2019

INDIANAPOLIS (September 23, 2019) – The 12th Annual Court History & Continuing Legal Education Symposium will take place on Friday, November 1, 2019, at the Birch Bayh Federal Building and U.S. Courthouse, 46 East Ohio Street, Indianapolis, Indiana. The program will be held in the Sarah Evans Barker Courtroom (Courtroom 216). Organized by the Historical Society of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Indiana and sponsored by the Court, this event, which is pending approval of three hours of CLE credit, will be held from 1:00 PM to 4:30 PM.

This year's symposium will feature a look back at two major projects recently completed by the Historical Society, plus an exploration of the paths to the bench of past and present judges of the United States District Court for the Southern District of Indiana.

During 2019, the Court Historical Society concluded two major initiatives related to the history of the Southern District of Indiana. The court's historian, Doria Lynch, will provide a brief synopsis of the Chief Justice Roger B. Taney mural alteration project, which was completed in July. Taney's name was replaced with Marshall in keeping with the broader national trend to remove inappropriate historical symbols from public spaces. The Court Historical Society also recently inventoried the chambers papers of Judge William E. Steckler, with the goal of making them available to researchers through a partnership with the Indiana Historical Society. Alysha Zemanek from the Indiana Historical Society and Mary Giorgio, the court's public outreach coordinator, will discuss the process and offer a sneak peek at the newly available collection.

After a short break, Doria and Mary will present "Paths to the Bench: Southern District of Indiana Appointments from William E. Steckler to Gene E. Brooks." The presentation will look at the historical process of judicial nominations and appointments in the Southern District of Indiana, and the career paths of each judge that ultimately led to their appointments.

Finally, to provide insight into the modern judicial nomination and appointment process, several past and present judges of the Southern District of Indiana will participate in a round table discussion about their own experiences and paths to the federal bench. The session will be moderated by Inge Van der Cruysse, J.D., Lecturer in Law and Director, Externships and Clerkship Placements at the Indiana University Maurer School of Law. The Hon. Sarah Evans Barker, the Hon. Richard L. Young, the Hon. James Patrick Hanlon and the Hon. David F. Hamilton will serve as panelists.



Board of Directors & Officers

Hon. Sarah Evans Barker U.S. District Court

Elizabeth K. Cierzniak, President Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

C. Daniel Motsinger, Treasurer Krieg DeVault LLP

Libby Yin Goodknight, Assistant Treasurer Krieg DeVault LLP

Daniel E. Pulliam, Secretary Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

Adam Arceneaux Ice Miller LLP

Doria M. Lynch U. S. District Court

Steering Committee

Charles Bush Ice Miller LLP

Jayna Cacioppo Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP

A. Scott Chinn Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

Mark Crandley Barnes & Thornburg LLP

Mary Giorgio U.S. District Court

Evelyn A. Hollins U. S. District Court

Clark Kirkman Indiana Department of Environmental Management

William Longest Office of the Chapter 13 U.S. Trustee

Michael Marine Indiana University Health

Elizabeth Brand Monroe IUPUI Department of History

Elizabeth R. Osborn Indiana University

The Historical Society of the United States District Court for the Southern District of Indiana, Inc.

ONE INDIANA SQUARE, SUITE 2800 ★ ATTN. C. DANIEL MOTSINGER ★ INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA 46204 (317) 229-3729

www.insd.uscourts.gov/court-historical-society

Registration is required for this event, and space is limited. RSVP by October 29 to insd_cle@insd.uscourts.gov. Members of the Historical Society of the United States

District Court for the Southern District of Indiana receive complimentary registration. For non-members wishing to attend the event, the registration fee is \$50 and includes a one-year membership to the Court's Historical Society. The fee may be paid by cash, check, or money order at the event. For more information, contact Mary Giorgio at mary_giorgio@insd.uscourts.gov or 317-229-3711.